Log in



International Yearly Conferences

Conference Advisory Committee

The following members are available to advise future IFAMA conference Chairs about their planning experiences and learnings.

IFAMA's annual conferences attract professionals from cross-disciplines who share common goals of improving the global food system. Participants include professionals from the ag sector, faculty from leading academic institutions, NGOs, government agencies, and students.  

IFAMA aims to enhance its members’ capacity to excel at the science and agricultural business management. Effective science-based decision-making is developed through discussions, informed debate, and careful deliberations among peers. Through these events, members discover the multidimensionality of their common issues, draw connections to broader themes and develop solutions which enhance collective competitiveness.

IFAMA conferences always include a scientific research Symposium, a Forum which features hot- topic discussions from high-level speakers, roundtable discussions, case study workshops and networking.

IFAMA has the distinction of delivering the only Global Student Case Competition exclusively focused on agribusiness. Early career professionals and students are a vital part of the organization. We recognize the future of our planet is dependent upon many committed individuals working together in order to find the innovative solutions needed to create a sustainable future. What makes IFAMA unique?

Irene Alvarado

Professor, Universidad EARTH

Costa Rica (Symposium)

Juan José Bolaños

CEO, Piñalbo, Costa Rica (Student Case Competition)

Gerry Kouwenhoven

Associate Lecturer, Inholland University, The  Netherlands
(Student Case Competition)

Jacques Trienekens

Professor, Wageningen University, The Netherlands

Gregory Baker

Professor, Santa Clara University, USA
(Industry-Forum Program)

Roberto Feeney

Professor, Austral University, Argentina
(Student Case Competition)

Longbao Wei

Professor, Zhejiang University, China
(Industry-Forum Program)


Every year since 1991, IFAMA has convened stakeholders from around the world.

2024 Almería (Spain)

2023 Christchurch (New Zealand)

2022 San José (Costa Rica)

2021 Virtual

2020 Virtual

2019 Hangzhou (China)

2018 Buenos Aires (Argentina)

2017 Miami (USA)

2016 Aarhus (Denmark)

2015 Saint Paul (USA)

2014 Cape Town (South Africa)

2013 Atlanta (USA)

2012 Shanghai (China)

2011 Frankfurt (Germany)

2010 Boston (USA)

2009 Budapest (Hungary)

2008 Monterey (USA)

2007 Parma (Italy)

2006 Buenos Aires (Argentina)

2005 Chicago (USA)

2004 Montreux (Switzerland)

2003 Cancun (Mexico)

2002 Noordwijk (The Netherlands)

2001 Sydney (Australia)

2000 Chicago (USA)

1999 Florence (Italy)

1998 Punta del Este (Uruguay)

1997 Jakarta (Indonesia)

1996 Cancun (Mexico)

1995 Paris (France)

1994 Caracas (Venezuela)

1993 San Francisco (USA)

1992 Oxford (England)

1991 Boston (USA)

Cities per continent: North America, 11; South America, 4; Europe, 10; Africa, 1; Asia, 3; Oceania, 2

Twice each city: Boston, Cancun, Chicago, Buenos Aires

© 2024 IFAMA  |  All rights reserved  |

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software